Home‎ > ‎

About the SAT

SAT Reasoning Tests/ SAT I
The SAT Reasoning Test is the most popular admissions test among colleges and universities in the U.S. It tests students' knowledge of subjects in reading, writing, and mathematics. The SAT assesses the critical thinking skills students need for academic success in college. The SAT is typically taken by high school juniors and seniors. It tells students how well they use the skills and knowledge they have attained in and outside of the classroom—including how they think, solve problems, and communicate. 

The SAT is comprised of 10 total testing sections including three critical reading sections, three mathematics sections, three writing sections, and one experimental section that does not count towards your score. The first section is always a 25-minute essay, and the last section is always a 10-minute multiple-choice writing section. Sections two through seven are 25-minute sections. Sections eight and nine are 20-minute sections. Test-takers sitting next to each other in the same session may have test books with entirely different content orders for sections two through nine (mathematics, critical reading, and writing). Each section of the SAT is scored on a scale of 200-800, for a total combined score of 2400 points. The SAT is three hours and 45 minutes long plus breaks.

The SAT is administered seven times a year in the U.S. and six times a year in Taiwan.

SAT Subject Tests/SAT II

The SAT Subject Tests, formerly referred to as SAT II: Subject Tests, are designed to measure the knowledge and skills in particular academic subject areas. The SAT Subject Tests give you the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of content in specific subjects, such as English, history, mathematics, science, and various foreign languages. 

Many colleges use the SAT Subject Tests for admission, for course placement, and to advise students about course selection. Some colleges specify the SAT Subject Tests that they require for admission or placement; others allow applicants to choose which tests to take. To decide which SAT Subject Tests to take, please check with colleges' admissions requirements first. 

All SAT Subject Tests are one hour and multiple-choice tests and are scored on a scale of 200-800. The SAT Subject Tests fall into five general subject areas:  English, History, Math, Science, and Language.

Source: CollegeBoard.com